A Healthy Life is a Good Investment

18 Jul

weights

Two years ago, I was an exercise fiend. I did cardio almost daily through a club group and built up a fast metabolism. Like Takeru Kobayashi, I may be small, but I can sure pack food away like no other! I wasn’t fat, but I wasn’t skinny either…I’m petite, yet curvy.

Now, I just sit around like a couch potato…but I haven’t gained much weight. Lately, I realize that if I want to really save money in the long-term, I need to take care of my body. That way, as I get older, I’ll have less medical problems to deal with and hopefully, save money on hospital bills and medication. So, I’m doing the Body for Life Challenge…12 weeks…I’m going to get in shape and be healthy overall.

My goals are to lose a maximum of 5 pounds, tone and shape my body, and increase my fitness. I want to be able to run 5 miles without stopping and be able to hike up tall mountains without getting sick.

So far, I can run about 2 miles and do a mile hike up 1000 ft. I needed only 100 ft of elevation to hit the summit but I felt kind of woozy so I had to hike back down. Next time, I’ll make it up to the top!

From mid-June to mid-Sept, I’ll be working toward my exercise goals and by the end, I hope to have some nice results! 🙂

Leave a Reply

